We can do anything!

I recently had a heated argument with a couple of our developers. They were creating a new module in one of our systems, and were building the UI based on a screenshot from a designer.

Developer: “Here is what was auto-deployed to the development server last night. As you can see it is a somewhat working prototype.”

Me (After picking on several aspects of the design): “..so I guess we’re pretty far away from anything I can show the customer.”

Developer (groans): “As you can see, it’s perfect and doesn’t need any tweaks..”

Me: “Well, were you looking for feedback, or did you just want me to compliment you on your CSS skills?”

Developer: “I was after feedback, but I am allowed to be grumpy when I get it. So, if we change the stuff you mentioned, can we move on to the admin part after that?”

Me: “If we present it like this, we’ll be thrown under the bus. I need it to be as close to the design screenshot as possible. Now that I’m looking at it again, I’m actually worried even that won’t be good enough.”

Developer: “Seriously?! Well, God. I need a timeout. Give me two minutes to grab another coffee..”

After a lengthy discussion while looking at some state of the art, jaw dropping design templates online, we all realize that we haven’t been aiming high enough with the new design. I’ve been giving them a hard time for maybe thirty minutes, even though I know their job isn’t easy. We’re hard pressed for time, and I know I’ve said the functionality is more important. But I also know that the current design simply won’t cut it. I try to calm things down.

Me: “I know I’m being harsh here, but I needed to get the message across.”

Developer: “So, if we don’t even think the design from the designer is good enough, why do we spend time implementing it? I don’t even want to do it anymore after seeing how much better it can be done.”

Me (pointing at one of the crazy designs we checked out online): “I hear you, but can we even do anything remotely like that?”

Developer (looking straight at me): “We can do anything!”

 

“Most people fail in life not because they aim too high and miss,

but because they aim too low and hit.”

-Les Brown

@TSigberg

Posted on May 29, 2014, in Management, Software development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

